Medical Education

||Medical Education
Medical Education2018-10-18T07:28:20+00:00

Medical Education

The Medical Education Division is a major division of JSS Mahavidyapeetha. In order to set up the JSS University, a Society styled as, “the JSS University Society, Mysore” was registered under the Karnatkaka Societies’ Registration Act, Regd. No. MYS- S 61-07, on 8.5.2007. The Government of India under its notification No. E 9-9/2007 dated 28.5.2008 notified the JSS Univesity (as deemed to be University) with the following institutions affiliated to this University.

  • JSS Medical College, Mysore (1984)
  • JSS Dental College, Mysore (1986)
  • JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysore (1973/1983)
  • JSS College of Pharmacy, Ooty (1980)

(Note: Figures in brackets refer to the years in which the Institutions were started. JSS College of Pharmacy, Ooty, was affiliated to the MGR University, Tamilnadu, till date.)The above institutions which are providing medical education for the past over 20 years under the Rajiv Gandhi Health University were transferred and affiliated to JSS University on 4.6.2008. Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Deshikendra Mahaswamiji, who is the President of the JSS Mahavidyapeetha continued to be the Chancellor of the JSS University and the Executive Secretary Sri B. N. Betkeroor, the Pro Chancellor and Dr. B. Suresh, the Vice Chancellor and Dr. Mrityunjaya Kulenoor, the Registrar of the JSS University during the year under report.

As per the University statutes and rules, several Boards/Committees have been formed to run the University. The University brings out its own annual reports. A brief report on the other institutions under the Medical Education Division is presented below.